Could the US be about to ban laptops on flights from the UK?

    Speculation among the travel world is rife with talk that the UK may be next to join the list of countries with new hand luggage restrictions for laptops and tablets on flights to the US! 

    Laptop Flight Ban

    Its been just over a month now since Tuesday 21st March, when the UK and US governments announced a ban on laptops and tablets in all hand luggage on board direct flights from Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan, Egypt, Tunisia and Saudi Arabia & has now been widely reported that the US is considering extending this ban to include flights coming from UK airports to the US.

    The US homeland security is yet to confirm whether or not this will happen but spokeswomen Gillian Christensen has been quoted as saying “We’ve said we will continue to evaluate the threat environment and make determinations based on that assessment, but we have not made any decisions on expanding the current restrictions against large electronic devices in aircraft cabins from selected airports.” This dramatic escalation in the ban could signal that a worldwide ban on laptops, iPads and other devices in hand luggage could be imminent. 

    When the ban was first introduced in late May it sparked immediate criticism from technology experts, who said the new rules appeared to be at odds with basic computer science. Nicholas Weaver, researcher at the International Computer Science Institute at the University of California, Berkeley, said last month: “It doesn’t match a conventional threat model. If you assume the attacker is interested in turning a laptop into a bomb, it would work just as well in the cargo hold.”

    Here’s a list of Airports already on the US list : 

    • Cairo (Egypt)
    • Istanbul (Turkey)
    • Dubai (United Arab Emirates)
    • Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates)
    • Kuwait (Kuwait)
    • Doha (Qatar)
    • Casablanca (Morocco)
    • Amman (Jordan)
    • Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)
    • Jeddah (Saudi Arabia)

    Here’s the list of countries currently on the UK list : 

    • Turkey
    • Lebanon
    • Jordan
    • Egypt
    • Tunisia
    • Saudi Arabia